Speakers by Day

Sunday, September 21, 2014

Ms. Nancy Brown
Keynote Address

Chief Executive Officer,
American Heart Association

Ms. Nancy Brown, since 2009, has been Chief Executive Officer of the American Heart Association, which is widely known and respected as the world's largest voluntary health organization dedicated to preventing, treating and defeating cardiovascular disease and stroke. Under Brown's leadership, the AHA announced its bold 2020 goal of improving the cardiovascular health of all Americans by 20 percent, while reducing deaths from cardiovascular diseases and stroke by 20 percent.
In addition to her work with the AHA, Brown serves as the 2014 chairperson of the National Health Council and co-chair of the Steering Committee of the Coalition to Transform Advanced Care. She also is a member of the Executive Committee of Research!America, and on the Boards of Directors of the Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids, the Alliance for a Healthier Generation, and the Valentin Fuster-Mount Sinai Foundation for Science, Health and Empowerment.

Monday, September 22, 2014

Dr. Michael Lauer
Keynote Address

Director, Division of Cardiovascular Sciences, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

Dr. Michael Lauer leads the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute's program for research on the causes, prevention and treatment of cardiovascular diseases. He received education and training at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Albany Medical College, Harvard Medical School, Harvard School of Public Health and the NHLBI's Framingham Heart Study. He spent 14 years at the Cleveland Clinic as Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology, and Biostatistics.
During his tenure at the Cleveland Clinic, Lauer led a federally funded, internationally renowned clinical epidemiology program that applied big data from large-scale electronic health platforms to questions regarding the diagnosis and management of cardiovascular disease. Since coming to the NHLBI in 2007, he has promoted efforts to leverage big data infrastructure to enable high-efficiency epidemiology, comparative effectiveness research, and clinical trials.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Coming Soon